MY so called scarf!

April 4, 2010 at 8:20 am 1 comment

Well, would you believe it – I’ve finally finished a project!  I’ve been looking at the pattern for ‘My So Called Scarf’ (found here and also on ravelry) for just ages and ages.  However, I have a lot of trouble finding new and interesting yarns around here.  I have a couple of shops that I use to buy wool – but they stock the very standard Rowan, Sirdar, and an abundance of acrylics.  Everything over and above that I have to buy on the internet.

A few weeks ago I went on a really lovely holiday to Dartmoor, and stayed in the most beautiful holiday cottage.  We ate good food, fresh local produce, dined at fabulous restaurants, but what really did it for me was the access I had to some of the fantastic craft and yarn stores that there was.  I was in my element.

The first little gem of a store that we stumbled across was one in Hatherleigh, Devon.  The owner of this store keeps a blog which you can find here which shows off some of the fabulous and cute things that she keeps.  It was my ideal of a wonderful life, sat in a cute little shop, surrounded by lovely things, and being allowed – if not encouraged – to knit at work!!!

The second fabulous place that we stopped at was called Spin A Yarn in Bovey Tracey, you can find their website here.  This shop is just an emporium of wool.  I walked in, went a bit weak at the knees and just stopped in awe, the ladies came and offered me and my friend a cup of tea or coffee while we looked, which I thought was a lovely touch!  Anyway, I could have browsed for ages in this shop, but I suddenly thought back to my endless pattern searches on ravelry, and thought of the ‘My so called scaf’ pattern that I had been looking at lovingly for months. Iasked the assistant if she stocked Manos Del Uruguay, and they did!!  I was so excited!!  Then, I had to try and choose which colour…

Anyway, this was what I bought, its not the kind of thing I wanted to buy on the internet – you really need to see it to know what you are getting, and you really need to feel it to know how soft and lovely it is.

I love this scarf – and just can’t wait for some colder weather to be able to wear it!  The pattern just works so well for this wool, I am so happy with it, and it took no time at all to knit up!

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , , , , .

Knitted items for cats

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  April 21, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    That looks like it’s a joy to work with. Wish I’d been able to find those shops when I was there, I’ll look them up when I’m next there, thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’m tweeting…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 4,615 people creating a mess!

Ravelry Link

Locations of visitors


